2017-2018 Annual Awards Banquet


Last Saturday, May 5, we celebrated student and faculty success at our 2017-2018 Annual Awards Banquet. We’ll have photos soon from Autumn Shoemaker (BS ’10, Journalism Mass Comm), but for now, here are our award recipients.  (Information about the student awards below is available from our department’s web site.)

Brink Memorial Essay Award: Jackson Wright (first place) and Taryn Oborny (second place)
Chappell Award: Jacinta Mioni and Savannah Winkler
Conover Award: Susanna Millsap
Davis Award: Brittani Ivan
Edwards Scholarship: Brittani Ivan and Cailin Roles
Glenn Scholarship: Chelsea Osademe
Graduate Student Service Award: Gavin Colton
Hallam Walker Davis Award: Lynsey Akin
Johanning Scholarship: Latrice Ferguson
Most Promising Undergraduate Student Award: Skyler Lindquist
Expository Writing Most Promising GTA Award: Gabriela De Anda and Cailin Roles
Expository Writing Exemplar Graduate Teaching Award: Maia Carslon and Gavin Colton
Lamb Scholarship: Macy Davis
Lukens Scholarship: Carleigh Whitman
Popkins Scholarship: Kathryn Hall, Susanna Millsap, Kaitlin Wells
Brewster Rogerson Scholarship: Desiree Shippers and Erin Smee
Seaton Awards: Krista Danielson and Madelyn Pospisil
Undergraduate Leadership & Service Award: Stephanie Wallace
Writing Center Excellence Award: Margaret Lang

Children’s Literature Graduate Essay Award: Catherine Williams
Composition & Rhetoric Research Essay Award: Jamie Teixeira
Cultural Studies Essay Award: Grace Ure
Expository Program Undergraduate Essay Award: Elena White (first place) and Elaine La Roche (second place)
Graduate Creative Writing Awards: Gavin Colton (first place, fiction); Peter Williams (first place, creative nonfiction), Maia Carlson (second place, creative nonfiction), and Alyssa Coook (third place, creative nonfiction); Madelyn Pospisil (first place, poetry).
Graduate Critical Essay Award: Cailin Roles
Professional Writing Awards: Rebecca Gillen (first place) and Issac Schmidt (second place)
Technical and Scientific Writing Awards: Evan Steckler (first place) and Katharine Kellogg (second place)

Touchstone Awards: Krista Danielson (fiction); Stephanie Wallace (creative nonfiction); and Riley Morsman (poetry).

SAGE Graduate Faculty Award for Distinguished Teaching: Mark Crosby
SAGE Graduate Faculty Award for Distinguished Service: Abby Knoblauch
English Dept Award: Excellence in Advising: Abby Knoblauch
English Dept Award: Excellence in Teaching: Katy Karlin
Donnelly Faculty Award: Michele Janette

Our thanks to the faculty who assisted with selecting our awards, to our main office staff who helped assemble the rsvps and certificates, and to Anne Phillips for serving once again as MC for evening — and to all of the students and their families and friends who celebrated with us!

Karin Westman, Associate Professor and Department Head

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s