2018-2019 Annual Awards Banquet


Last Saturday, May 11, we celebrated student and faculty success at our 2018-2019 Annual Awards Banquet. We’ll have photos soon from Kristen Schweitzer (K-State alumna in Biology and in Curriculum and Instruction), but for now, here are our award recipients.  (Information about the student awards below is available from our department’s web site.)

Brink Memorial Essay Award: Savannah Winkler (first place) and Kaylee Kipp (second place)
Chappell Award: Kelsey Gibbs and Emma Loura
Conover Award: Molly Burt
Davis Award: Rebecca Nelson
Edwards Scholarship: Molly Burt and Cailey McCabe
Glenn Scholarship: Katie Cline
Graduate Student Service Award: Alyssa Cook
Hallam Walker Davis Award: Dene Dryden
Johanning Scholarship: Katie Cline
Most Promising Undergraduate Student Award: Lauren Chamberlin
Expository Writing Most Promising GTA Award: Noelle Braaten
Fountainhead Expository Writing Exemplar Graduate Teaching Award: Alyssa Cook and Dan Haws
Lamb Scholarship: [awarded in the spring of even years only]
Lukens Scholarship: Erin Smee
Popkins Scholarship: Dustin Vann and Stephanie Wallace
Brewster Rogerson Scholarship: Cecilia Pick Gomez and Brenna Leahy
Seaton Awards: Anna Meyer, Vilune Sestokaite, and Dustin Vann
Undergraduate Leadership & Service Award: Macy Davis
Writing Center Excellence Award: Lauren Callihan

Children’s Literature Graduate Essay Award: Molly Burt
Composition & Rhetoric Research Essay Award: Lynsey Akin
Cultural Studies Essay Award: Cailin Roles (graduate award), Hunter Nelson (undergraduate award)
Fountainhead Expository Program Undergraduate Essay Award: Matthew Rodrigues (first place) and Benjamin Dezube (second place)
Graduate Creative Writing Awards: Anna Meyer (fiction),  Madelyn Pospisil (creative nonfiction), and Anna Meyer (poetry)
Graduate Critical Essay Award: Cailin Roles
Professional Writing Awards: Katie Bugner (first place) and Alesha Kuechler (second place)
Technical and Scientific Writing Awards: Hayden Bryant (first place) and Aubrey Busenitz (second place)

Touchstone Awards: Savannah Winkler (fiction), Cheyenne White (creative nonfiction), and Macy Davis (poetry)

SAGE Graduate Faculty Award for Distinguished Teaching: Cameron Leader-Picone
SAGE Graduate Faculty Award for Distinguished Service: Tom Sarmiento
English Dept Award: Excellence in Advising: Kimball Smith
English Dept Award: Excellence in Teaching: Steffi Dippold
Donnelly Faculty Award: Phillip Marzluf

Our thanks to the faculty who assisted with selecting our awards, to our main office staff who helped assemble the rsvps and certificates, and to the faculty and graduate students who presented awards — and to all of the students and their families and friends who celebrated with us!

Finally, in honor of our former colleague Charlotte Hyde, each table at the banquet had legos, so guests could construct something that prompted curiosity or joy. You can view some of the results on Facebook and Twitter.

Karin Westman, Associate Professor and Department Head


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s